Inked

'Wallona Aritta

‘Wallona Aritta”, one of Australia’s tattooed ladies, from State Library Victoria Collections. Available at https://flic.kr/p/9U795D This image is used under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic Licence.

“I like your tattoo,” a library patron says to me today at work.

“Huh? My ta…?” I realise he is looking at the reminder note I’ve scribbled hastily on my inner wrist. I don’t bother to correct him: it’s school holidays and kind of frantic. “Oh. Thanks,” I say instead.

“What is it? Some kind of quote?” he asks intrigued, leaning in to inspect it more closely. “TOP UP YOUR GODDAMN OPAL CARD!!!”, he reads.

A flicker of deep existential uncertainty crosses his face. “Er… cool,” he says at last.

I wonder if he will go home and get inked just like me.

About bakersdaughterwrites

What to say? I’m a 30-something year old woman from Sydney notorious for changing her mind. I have a cat named Seraphina Nightingale, whic
This entry was posted in Library stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment